Each and every year, Merrill College students at all levels are major award and scholarship winners. From student Emmy awards to the Broadcast Education Association, Society of Professional Journalists, The Big Ten Network and beyond, our students’ record reflects unparalleled excellence. They are #FearlessJournalists and #MerrillMade

Below you’ll find a listing of our award-winning students and scholarship winners for 2017 (many times awards are for work done the previous year). Earlier years are in subsequent pages.

Find out more about how you can be part of our award-winning heritage by contacting the undergraduate office at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism.


NATAS – The National Academy of Arts and Sciences – National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter announced their “Outstanding Achievement in Student Production” winners Feb. 23, and Merrill College took top honors once again.

Pillars and certificates for the College Student Production Awards will be presented at the Gold & Silver Circle Ceremony, March 4, 2017. The ceremony follows the annual student broadcast seminar Face Time with the Pros hosted by Merrill College earlier that day.

Here’s a complete list of winners:


Maryland Newsline, 11/30/16

News: General Assignment – Serious News:

CNS-Chicken Wars
Sara Dignan

CNS-Baltimore Deconstruction
Alex Pacinda

News: General Assignment – Light News

CNS-Bikes and Burden
Angelo Bavaro

CNS-survivor quilt
Michelle Chavez

Video Innovation Class -The Fight for Ferrets in Washington, D.C.
Anna Muckerman

Video Innovation Class – Mission Muffins
Anna Muckerman

Video Innovation Class – Growing Together
Becca King

Public Affairs/Community Service

ViewFinder Team: Fall ’16 Strength and Shame


ViewFinder – The Southern Barnyard Runners
Mackenzie Happe and Hannah Burton


ViewFinder Team: Fall ’16: Faces of the Fair

Non-Fiction: Long Form category

UMD Rival News-the rival news episode
(Rival News is produced by a UMD student group.)



White House News Photographers Association
2017 “Eyes of History®” Student Competition

Narrated (Reporter) Package category:

First Place

Angelo Bavaro ’17
CNS: The Business of Moving On

Second Place
Michelle Chavez ’16
CNS: Survivor Quilt

Natural Sound Package category:

First Place Alexandra Simon ’17
ViewFinder: Two Guys Feed the Fair

Second Place
Ryan Eskalis ’16
ViewFinder: Last Chance

Award of Excellence Susann Shin ’17
ViewFinder: Cruising on Camels

Award of Excellence Hannah Burton ’17 and Mackenzie Happe ’17
ViewFinder: The Southern Barnyard Runners

The top winners of the still, video, multimedia and student contests will be honored at the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ gala on June 10, 2017, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington. The black-tie event celebrates all the winning photojournalists and the President of the United States.

NPPA 2017 Northern Short Course (Professional) Photo Contest Winners

Team Multimedia
Third place: Hannah Burton, Karen Castillo, Ryan Eskalis, Mya Green, Mackenzie Happe, Hannah Klarner, Susann Shin and Alexandra Simon: “ViewFinder Fall ‘16: Strength and Shame.”

Longform Multimedia Individual
Honorable mention: Ricky Lasser, “Forgiven”

Garland Award

During the awards dinner in Fairfax, Va. March 4,  NPPA will honor Adjunct lecturer Bethany Swain with the Garland Award for outstanding service as a photojournalism educator.

Broadcast Education Association 2017 Festival of Arts winners – Feb. 2017


Television Hard News Category 1st Place:
Michelle Chavez, University of Maryland; Battling Gangs: Kids Struggle to Escape Recruitment.

Television Newscast (airing 3 days per week or less)
2nd Place: Simone Thomas, Angelo Bavaro, Faye Curran & Staff, University of Maryland; Maryland Newsline November 30:


Best of Festival:
Television Hard News Category
Ryan Eskalis & Susann Shin, University of Maryland; ViewFinder: Blindsided

Short Form Video or Film Documentary Category
1st Place: Ricky Lasser, University of Maryland; ViewFinder: Forgiven

Television News Magazine Category
1st Place: Hannah Burton, Ryan Eskalis, Mya Green, Susann Shin, Hannah Klarner, Alexandra Simon, Karen Castilo, Mackenzie Happe, University of Maryland; ViewFinder Fall ’16: Strength and Shame.

Instructional/Educational Category
2nd Place: Hannah Burton & Ryan Eskalis, University of Maryland; ViewFinder: The Missing Half.


(The ViewFinder were produced for the campus PALS project in Howard County and Anne Arundel County.)

Ellie Silverman ’17  awarded 8th place in the Hearst Enterprise Reporting contest. A press release said this was “the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 119 enterprise writing entries were received in this competition from 66 schools.”