Board of Visitors

The University of Maryland's Philip Merrill College of Journalism is assisted in its work by a distinguished Board of Visitors. The board, established in 1983, provides a source of professional support and guidance by experienced journalism and media professionals.

The board meets twice a year, providing students and faculty with an opportunity to interact with board members over informal discussions or in workshop panels.

Members of the Merrill College Board of Visitors with Provost Mary Anne Rankin and Dean Lucy Dalglish.The current Board of Visitors:

  • Chair: Cathy Merrill Williams, president and publisher, The Washingtonian, Washington, D.C.
  • Thomas Baden '80, editor, The Daily Record.
  • Bonnie Bernstein '92, ABC/ESPN Sports, New York, NY.
  • Connie Chung '69, former anchor/correspondent, CBS, CNN, NBC, ABC and MSNBC, New York, NY.
  • Ralph Crosby '56, chairman, Crosby Marketing Communications, Annapolis, Md.
  • Rick Davis (MA) '84, EVP CNN News Standards & Practice.
  • Robert Doherty '79, U.S. general manager, Thomson Reuters, Washington, D.C.
  • Paula Lynn Ellis '76, former vice president strategic/initiatives,John S. and James L. Knight
    Foundation, Miami, and former vice president for operations, Knight Ridder, Inc.
  • Constance Mitchell Ford, real estate bureau chief at the Wall Street Journal
  • Geoffrey Gonella '90, president and co-founder, Cornerstone Government Affairs, Washington, D.C.
  • Christopher Harte, journalist and inventor.
  • Jane Healy '71, columnist, Orlando Sentinel (retired).
  • Gerald Hroblak, president, Richard Eaton Foundation, Chevy Chase, Md.
  • John Jenkins '72, publishing executive, journalist and author, Washington, D.C.
  • Jay Kernis '74,  producer, NBC News, New York, NY.
  • Adam Ostrow '04, chief strategy officer, Mashable.
  • Roy Schwartz '98, MBA '01, chief revenue officer, Politico.
  • John Seng '79, chairman and founder, Spectrum Science Communications, Washington, D.C.
  • Scott Van Pelt, anchor/reporter, ESPN, Bristol, Conn.
  • Sandra Long Weaver '74,  former Vice President, Newsroom Operations, The Philadelphia Inquirer.
  • Katharine Weymouth, publisher and CEO, Washington Post Media.
  • Eun Yang '95, anchor/reporter, NBC4 Washington, D.C.

Honorary Board Members

  • Chair Emerita: Eleanor Merrill, Chairman, The Washingtonian, Washington, D.C.
  • Marion Poynter

Past members of the Board of Visitors:

  • Joe Adams, president, The Adams Group, Rockville, Md.
  • Arnold Barach, secretary, The Kiplinger Foundation.
  • Jeanne Viner Bell, public relations counselor, Washington, D.C.
  • Cathie Black, publisher, USA Today.
  • Jerry Ceppos, dean and professor, Manship School of Mass Communication, Louisiana State University.
  • John Carroll, editor, The Baltimore Sun.
  • Hodding Carter III, president Main Street TV Productions, Washington, D.C.
  • Barbara Cochran, president emeritus, Radio Television Digital News Association, Washington D.C.
  • Walter Cronkite, news anchor, CBS News
  • Paul Delaney, senior editor, The New York Times.
  • Hal Donofrio, president, Richardson, Myers and Donofrio, Baltimore.
  • Paul Duke, senior commentator, Public Broadcasting System.
  • Tim Franklin, editor, The Baltimore Sun.
  • Donald Graham, chairman, The Washington Post.
  • Mireille Grangenois, vice president, marketing and interactive media, The Baltimore Sun.
  • Gwen Ifill, moderator and managing editor, "Washington Week."
  • Tom Johnson, former president, CNN.
  • Bo Jones, chairman, The Washington Post.
  • William Marimow, editor and senior vice president, The Baltimore Sun.
  • Doyle McManus, Washington Columnist, The Los Angeles Times.
  • Reg Murphy, publisher, The Baltimore Sun.
  • Jack Nelson, Washington bureau chief, Los Angeles Times.
  • Susan Patrick, MBA '85, Managing Partner, Patrick Communcations LLP, Elkridge, Md.
  • Gene Patterson, editor and president, St. Petersburg Times.
  • Ken Paulson, editor, USA Today.
  • Peter Perl, senior editor, The Washington Post.
  • Thomas Phillips, chairman, Phillips Publishing International, Potomac, Md.
  • Marion K. Poynter, retired director, Times Publishing Co., St. Peterburg, Fla.
  • John Quinn, senior VP and chief news executive, Gannett Co., Inc.
  • William Raspberry, columnist, The Washington Post.
  • Gene Roberts, executive editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer.
  • Charles S. Rowe, retired co-publisher and editor, Free Lance-Star, Fredericksburg, Va.
  • John Seigenthaler, trustee and former chairman, The Freedom Forum First Amendment Center, Vanderbilt University.
  • Claude Sitton, editor, The News & Observer, Raleigh, NC.
  • William Sutton Jr., Reynolds Visiting Professor, Grambling State University.
  • DeWayne Wickham, Distinguished Professor of Journalism and Chair, Communication Studies, Morgan State University and former columnist, USA Today and Gannett News Service.
  • Mortimer Zuckerman, chairman and editor-in-chief, U.S. News & World Report.