COLLEGE PARK, Md. (April 19) –  Members of the Ph.D. faculty at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism announces the 2017 Award winners following their meeting today.

Award recipients include:

UMD’s All-S.T.A.R. Fellowship
Honors one Journalism PhD student annually who is both an outstanding scholar and outstanding graduate assistant.
Karin Assmann



Hoa Nguyen is a Ph.D. student at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, UMD.

The Merrill College Gurevich Fellowship
Provides annual non-renewable scholarships “to an international PhD student at the Merrill College with financial need.”
Hoa Nguyen



SaranazThe Merrill College Professor Thomas J. Alyward Scholarship
This award is based “on a combination of potential success and financial need.” The scholarship was established as a tribute to Professor Aylward, the former chair of the University of Maryland’s Dept of Communication Arts and Theater and former director of the Division of Radio, TV, and Film before it was separated from the College.
Saranaz Barforoush


Brook Auxier is a Ph.D. student at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, UMD.UMD’s Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award
Nominated by Merrill College faculty, this award is one of 80 that will be handed out during the annual UMD Fellowship and Award Celebration on May 11, 2017.
Brooke Auxier