COLLEGE PARK (6/7/19) — Three alumnae of the University of Maryland Philip Merrill College of Journalism doctoral program will receive awards at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication annual conference in Toronto this summer.

Pallavi Guha, now an assistant professor of journalism and new media at Towson University, won the The Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award. She’s the first Merrill College alumna to win the award, which since 1984 has recognized the best Ph.D. dissertation in the field of mass communication.

Guha successfully defended her dissertation, “Mind the gap: Connecting news and information to build an anti-rape and sexual assault agenda in India,” in December 2017. Merrill College Professor Linda Steiner and Associate Professor Kalyani Chadha were Guha’s co-advisors.

Alumnae Stine Eckert and Karin Assmann won the Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award for Feminist Scholarship for a research project on women in newsroom leadership.

Eckert, who successfully defended her dissertation at Merrill College in May 2014, is an assistant professor in the Department of Communication at Wayne State University.

Assmann successfully defended her dissertation last month. She’ll start as an assistant professor at the University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication this fall.

The Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award was created in 1991 by the Commission on the Status of Women.

Steiner won the award in 1996 while at Rutgers.

For more information, contact:
Alexander A. Pyles