COLLEGE PARK (8/19/19) — Several University of Maryland Philip Merrill College of Journalism Ph.D. students, faculty members and alumni received awards during the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication conference this month in Toronto.

Student Alison Burns won top student paper for the Scholastic Journalism Division and also won second place in the History Division for “Long Run: How Nick News with Linda Ellerbee Stayed on TV for 25 Years.” She received honorable mention for her paper “FACTS about Fake News: A Media Literacy Workshop Strategy Connecting Colleges and Communities.”

Student Sohana Nasrin received the research award from the Media Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship Division.

Along with Assistant Professor Krishnan Vasudevan, Nasrin and fellow student Bobbie Foster earned second place in the top faculty paper award competition in the Critical & Cultural Studies Division for “Hacking Culture Not Code: Qualitative Analysis of How the Russian Government Used Facebook Social Ads During the 2016 Presidential Election.”

Ph.D. student Alison Burns (center) with Merrill College Dean Lucy A. Dalglish (right) after winning top student paper for the Scholastic Journalism Division.

Additionally, student Hoa Nguyen presented his paper, “In Modi’s Vision and Performance, Yoga Turned a Global Media Spectacle or a Tool for Nationalism.” 

Merrill College faculty members were also active throughout the conference.

Vasudevan won an award from the Mass Communication and Society division for top reviewer for the faculty research competition.

Professor Linda Steiner served as a discussant on a panel hosted by the Commission on the Status of Women and for the Mass Communication in Society Division, co-authored a paper titled “Who Broke it First: How News of Sexual Misconduct in US Academia Reaches the Public” for a research session hosted by the Commission on the Status of Women and served as a panelist for a session by the Commission on the Status of Women titled “How to talk to students and faculty about sexual harassment in academia?”

Associate Professor Kalyani Chadha was a panelist for a joint session titled “Big Questions for International Communication in the Era of Globalization: Paradigm, Theories, and Approaches,” for the International Communication and Communication Theory and Methodologies divisions.

Alumna Pallavi Guha (right) with Associate Professor Kalyani Chadha.

Meanwhile, Pallavi Guha, a Ph.D. alumna, won the The Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award. The award has since 1984 recognized the best Ph.D. dissertation in the field of mass communication. 

Also at AEJMC, Ph.D. alumnae Stine Eckert and Karin Assmann won the Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award for Feminist Scholarship for a research project on women in newsroom leadership.