National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Arts & Sciences (NATAS)

Merrill College students win student Emmy awards in 9 of the 12 categories available:

News: General Assignment – Serious News
Explosive Findings: Rosedale Train Derailment
Marissa Parra

News: General Assignment – Light News
Last Honor Flight of 2014
Marissa Parra

Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs
ViewFinder: Uncommon Pursuits
Asa Winborne, Trey Sherman, Ulysses Munoz, Regina Catipon, Cloe Buzan, Marissa Parra, Brittany Linton, Agnes Varghese

Little Miss Oriole
Alanna Delfino

Public Affairs Community Service
Going to Green Pond High
Raecine Williams

ViewFinder Fall ’14: Renewable Harvest
Shannon Atran, Bradleigh Chance, Tim Drummond, Chloe Leshner, Megan Rufty, Drew Snadecki, Phil Staiman

Raecine Williams – On Camera Talent Montage
Raecine Williams

Video Essay
Fire Dancers
Marissa Parra

Press Uncuffed
Alanna Delfino and Stephanie Martinez

Betty Endicott Scholarship

Junior Sara Dignan is the sole 2015 winner of the NATAS Betty Endicott Scholarship – worth $5000.00.

National Press Photographers Foundation TV News $2000 Scholarship: Emily Schweich

The University of Maryland Graduate School’s Outstanding Graduate Assistant

Ph.D. Candidate Saranaz Barforoush.

ALL S.T.A.R. FELLOWSHIP for the Merrill College

Ph.D. student Justin Hudson for school year 2015-2016.

Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence National Awards:

Online Sports Reporting
Baltimore’s Forgotten Champions: an Oral History of the Baltimore Stallions: National Winner

General News Reporting (Large) 10,000+ Students
Maryland’s International Relationships by Idress Ali (MJ ’14) – National Finalist

Sigma Delta Chi Foundation of Washington, D.C. $3000 Scholarship Winners

Brittany Cheng’17 and Lexie Schapitl ’17

American City Business Journals and the Dow Jones News Fund Summer Internships:

Naomi Eide (MJ)’15 and Zoe Sagalow ’16 (Washington Business Journal)

ASA Datafest – Washington, D.C.

“Team ReJin” – including Jin Kim ’15 and Regina Catipon ’15 winner: “Best Insight” category.

News21 Fellow:

Karen Mawdsley ’15

Shirley Povich Center For Sports Journalism All Star Student Awards

Aaron Kasinitz ’15
Rhiannon Walker ’15

Society of Professional Journalists

National Student Chapter of the Year

Society of Professional Journalists

Julie Galvan Outstanding Graduate Award – Brett Hall’15

Society of Professional Journalists – Mark of Excellence Awards.

Region 2 Winners included:

Best Overall Independent Website
TV Feature Reporting
TV Breaking News Reporting
TV News & Feature Photography
TV Sports Reporting
Online Feature Reporting
General News Reporting
Online Sports Reporting
TV In-Depth Reporting
TV Sports Photography

National Press Photographers Association

National Student Chapter of the Year

National Association of Black Journalists – named three MJ students – Valerie Young, Marcel Warfield and Brandie Peterson – to cover their national convention in August. The honor comes with an all-expenses paid trip to Minneapolis, Minn. for the event.

Broadcast Education Association “Festival of Media Arts” Awards

Television Hard News Reporting

1st Place (tie): Jatara McGee & Joyce Koh, University of Maryland; DC Ferguson: Protestors Respond to Decision in Ferguson

1st Place (tie): Marissa Parra, University of Maryland; Explosive Findings: Rosedale Train Derailment


3rd Place: Alex Glass, Dani Thompson, Alanna Delfino, Stephanie Martinez, Kara Dixon, Ben Susman, Taylor Lewis & Amanda Salvucci, University of Maryland; ViewFinder: Best of ViewFinder Spring’14

Short Form Video or Film Documentary

Honorary Mention: Alex Glass, Dani Thompson, Alanna Delfino, Amanda Salvucci, Ben Susman, Shannon Clash, Kara Dixon, Steph Martinez & Taylor Lewis, University of Maryland; Viewfinder: Overcoming Obstacles

TV Sports News Program

3rd Place (tie): Alex Glass, Dani Thompson, Alanna Delfino & Steph Martinez, University of Maryland; ViewFinder: The Other Games

White House Press Photographer’s Association “Eyes on History” Student Awards:

Tim Drummond – Sports Category Winner: ViewFinder: Paralympic Recovery
Alana Delfino – Sport Category Runner UP: Little Miss Oriole

Raecine Williams (MJ ’15) – “Package with Reporter Narration” winner: We’re Still Here
Joyce Koh – “Package with Reporter Narration” Runner Up: Art Home With Deeper Roots

Alexandra Givan is awarded Weiss Scholarship by the T. Howard Foundation.

Madeleine Deason (MJ ’15) wins a travel scholarship to attend PBS Mediashift’s JSchool Hackathon at Arizona State University in late February.

Raecine Williams (MJ ’15) named a 2015 CBC-UNC Diversity Fellow at the Unversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Valerie Young named a 2015 Meredith-Cronkite Fellow at Arizona State University (Jan. 4-9)