Incoming students do not apply for these awards. All incoming journalism students are considered for these scholarships on the basis of their applications to the university and their financial need.

Frank R. Cormier White House Correspondents’ Association Scholarship.

Established in 1991 by the White House Correspondents’ Association, this award was renamed in 1994 to honor the memory of Frank R. Cormier, who for two decades exemplified the best qualities of White House correspondents with a blend of gentleness, humor and professionalism that endeared him to the readers of his dispatches for The Associated Press.  This renewable scholarship is awarded to  four undergraduate students from Washington, D.C. or Prince George’s County, Maryland on the basis of financial need.

Baltimore Sun Diversity in Journalism Scholarship

Established by the Times Mirror Foundation, this non-renewable award is granted to an incoming freshman with high academic achievement in high school and wide-ranging cultural and economic background, who resides in the Baltimore Sun’s circulation area.

William Randolph Hearst Scholarship

Established in honor of William Randolph Hearsts’s 82nd birthday, these are among the college’s first scholarships.  A limited number of non-renewable awards are granted to outstanding Maryland high school students admitted to the Philip Merrill College of Journalism.

William C. Huffman Scholarship

This fund was established by Diana L. Huffman, the Baltimore Sun Distinguished Lecturer at Merrill College, in honor of her father, Dr. William C. Huffman (1910-1988), and his commitment to education and philanthropy. This renewable scholarship is awarded to incoming freshmen at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism who are in good academic standing and remain so throughout the term of the award, demonstrate financial need, and are residents of Washington, D.C. or Prince George’s County, Maryland. Students are eligible to re-apply for the award in subsequent years as long as they still qualify for the award criteria.

Jonathan Ledecky Sports Journalism Scholarship

Funded by New York Islanders minority owner Jonathan Ledecky to support scholarships for students in the Philip Merrill College of Journalism who have interest in sports journalism. Recipients must have an expressed interest in sports journalism, be accepted for full-time enrollment. and maintain good academic standing.