Journalism Commencement Speakers

5/18 Jemele Hill, ESPN
12/17 Carl Sessions Stepp, Merrill College professor
5/17      Washington Post investigative reporter and Pulitzer Prize-winner David Fahrenthold
12/16    Visiting Professor Constance Mitchell Ford
05/16   Scott Van Pelt, ESPN
12/15    Tom Bettag, Eleanor Merrill Distinguished Visiting Fellow & former ABC/CBS/CNN/NBC producer
5/15      Myriam Marquez, executive editor of El Nuevo Herald (Miami Herald)
12/14    James (Jamie) McIntyre, correspondent for Al Jazeera America
5/14      Andrea McCarren, multimedia journalist, WUSA-TV
12/13    No keynote speaker
5/13      Pierre Thomas, senior justice correspondent for ABC News
12/12    Philip Merrill College of Journalism Dean Lucy Dalglish
5/12      Robert Siegel, host of NPR’s All Things Considered
12/11    No keynote speaker
5/11      First Knight Chair Hodding Carter
12/10    No keynote speaker
5/10      David Lightman, national political correspondent and congressional reporter for McClatchy Newspapers
12/09   No keynote speaker
5/09     Ray Suarez, senior correspondent, PBS – The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer
12/08   Rem Rieder, editor and senior vice president, American Journalism Review
5/08     Jim Vance, WRC-TV News Anchor
12/07   No keynote speaker
5/07     Gene Weingarten, humor columnist, The Washington Post
12/06   No keynote speaker
5/06     Ken Paulson, editor, USA Today
12/05   No keynote speaker
5/05     Knight Kiplinger, Kiplinger Washington Editors
12/04   No keynote speaker
5/04     Doyle McManus, Washington Bureau Chief, Los Angeles Times
12/03   No keynote speaker
5/03    Colbert King, deputy editorial page editor, The Washington Post
12/02  No keynote speaker
5/02    Tim Brant ’73, morning radio host (WMAL) and ABC-TV sports broadcaster
12/01   Gwen Ifill, Washington Week moderator and managing editor
5/01     Maureen Bunyan, news anchor, WJLA-TV, Channel 7, Washington, D.C.
12/00   Jay Kernis ’74, producer, CBS 60 Minutes
5/00     Hodding Carter III, president and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Miami (First Knight Chair)
12/99   Michael Waller, publisher and CEO, The Baltimore Sun
5/99     Tom Phillips, chairman, Phillips Publishing International, Potomac, Md.
12/98   Will Sutton, Jr., deputy managing editor, Raleigh News & Observer
5/98     Robert D. Novak, syndicated columnist
12/97   Edward Fouhy, exec. dir., Pew Center for Civic Journalism
5/97     David Broder, Washington Post political columnist
12/96   Dorothy Gilliam, Washington Post Columnist
5/96     Robert W. Greene, Newsday, IRE
12/95   Harland W. (Hal) Warner, Capitoline/Manning Selvage & Lee
5/95     Rem Rieder, editor, American Journalism Review
12/94   William R. Harvey, Hampton University President
5/94     Eugene L. Roberts, Jr., Professor, Managing Editor, The New York Times
12/93   Reginald Stuart, News Editor, Knight Ridder, Washington  Bureau, National President-Elect, SPJ
5/93     Earle Palmer Brown, EPB and Regent
12/92   John S. Carroll, Editor and Senior VP, Baltimore Sun
5/92     DeWayne Wickham, columnist, USA Today, 1974 College Alum
12/91   William E. Kirwan, University of Maryland President (daughter’s graduation)
5/91     Peter S. Prichard, Editor, USA Today
12/90   Reg Murphy, Chairman of the Board, Baltimore Sun
5/90     John S. Prescott, former President of the Washington Post
12/89   Barbara Cohen (Cochran), Washington Bureau Chief, CBS News
5/89     Bill Monroe, editor, Washington Journalism Review
12/88   Jane Healy, Associate Editor, Orlando Sentinel, 1971 Alum
5/88     Harold Burson, Chairman, Burson-Marsteller
12/87   Joe Adams, Founder, Adams Group, Inc., 1961 alum
5/87     Jon Franklin, Assoc. Professor, 1970 alum
12/86   Mary Kay Quinlan, President, National Press Club, 1973 alum
5/86     Lynne Cheney, Chairman, National Endowment for the Humanities
5/85     Hal Donofrio, President, Richardson, Myers, & Donofrio, Baltimore

Alumni: If you remember speakers prior to 1985 please contact the Merrill College Communications Office.