Tag Archives: Hearst Journalism Awards

Hearst Awards Show Merrill Students Among the Best in the Nation

Hearst Awards.

Adapted from a Hearst News Release.

COLLEGE PARK, Md. (May 24) – The final overall results are out for the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Often called “The Pulitzers of college journalism,” the Hearst program holds year-long competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia for journalism undergraduates.  Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned by their students in each category are designated the winners of the Intercollegiate Competitions.

Overall Results for Merrill College:

Intercollegiate Writing: Fifth Place
Intercollegiate Broadcast Radio & TV: Sixth Place
Overall Intercollegiate trophies: 10th Place.

Individual Honors:

Andrew Dunn ’18 took fifth place and a $1000 scholarship award in the Breaking News Writing category.

Michelle Chavez ’16 took second place and a $2000 award in the TV2 News category. Merrill College will receive $2000 as well.

Two Merrill College students won Hearst Radio Awards. Matt Kubisiak’16 took third place while Demi Chang’15 took 17th place. Both were top students in adjunct lecturer Jamie Forzato’s JOUR364 – Radio Broadcast class in Fall 2015 and Spring 2016 respectively.

Merrill student Ellie Silverman’17 made the Top 10 (#8) of the Hearst Enterprise Writing Contest. This year the competition received 119 entries from 66 eligible undergraduate journalism programs.

About the Hearst Journalism Awards Program

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program operates under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.  It is fully funded and administered by The William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  Currently, 106 accredited undergraduate schools of journalism in the United States are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

The Intercollegiate Awards have been acknowledged since the inception of the program, and in 1990 monetary awards were added to the Hearst Journalism Awards Program budget.

The points earned by individual students in the monthly writing, photojournalism, radio, television and multimedia competitions determine each discipline’s Intercollegiate ranking.  The winners are those schools with the highest accumulated student points in each category.   The overall Intercollegiate winners are the schools with the highest accumulated student points in the writing, photojournalism, broadcast and multimedia competitions.

Publisher William Randolph Hearst established the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and The Hearst Foundation, Inc. in the 1940’s, a few years before his death in 1951.  Since then, the Foundations have awarded over one billion dollars in grants and programs.


Merrill Student Kyle Melnick ’18 Places Second in Hearst Writing Contest

Kyle Melnick '18

– LinkedIn photo.

Adapted from a Hearst Journalism Awards News Release.

COLLEGE PARK, Md. (May 2) – Merrill College junior Kyle Melnick is a second place winner in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program under the “Personality/Profile Writing” category.

He will be awarded a $2,000 scholarship, and Merrill College will receive a matching $2,000 grant.

Melnick’s winning entry was about Maryland basketball star Anthony Cowen, written for the Diamondback student newspaper.

Overall, Merrill College placed fifth in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition based on accumulated points for the five writing competitions held this year.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

About the Hearst Journalist Awards Program

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Merrill Journalists: Award Winners

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The start of a new year brings word of numerous awards won recently by  Philip Merrill College of Journalism students. See our complete list of student award winners on the Merrill College website.

  • Valerie YoungValerie Young is a 2015 Meredith-Cronkite Fellowship at Arizona State University (Jan. 4-9)
    The Meredith Corporation and its Phoenix television station, KPHO CBS 5, sponsor a weeklong multimedia fellowship program for top broadcast journalism students from underrepresented groups at the Cronkite School and around the country. The students spend a week each January – during most schools’ winter break – working in the CBS 5 newsroom with KPHO reporters, producers, editors and videographers, and with instructors from the Cronkite School. The program is led by Mark Lodato, the Cronkite School’s assistant dean and news director, along with the CBS 5 news director.
  • AnnikaSenior Annika McGinnis takes 11th place in the 2014 Hearst Enterprise Reporting Competition. This is the highest a Merrill College applicant has ever placed! Annika is currently an editorial intern at Reuters.


  • Delfino also took 8th place in the 2014-2015 Hearst Journalism Awards Television Features Program and wins a certificate of merit for her video “Veteran Kitchen.”